top of page

DAnCEacostia! Festival presents "Twizzler"


This was my first experience as a Curator and might I say it was quite the learning curve. To be honest, the curating part was easy and I loved the line up of artists. However, I was also a choreographer for the show (a youth and adult piece). Juggling both was not an easy task. As I learn to be more patient and not so critical when it comes to producing new work, I find myself observing more and taking notes on what works and what does NOT. In this choreographic process, though I was extremely crunched for time, I really tried to allow the energy to flow organically. I didn't enter the studio with ALL the steps, but instead a template to guide me where I ultimately envisioned the piece going. Overall, I learned alot about myself and the endless possibiliites of creativity when one steps back and lets go.

PROS: Opportunity to work with old dance friends, met new local artists who are now apart of my dance family, good moments captured on camera, sold out show, mentors came to support (Dr. Elana Anderson, Princess Mhoon Cooper), unparralled support from my PMDI dance moms, amazing costume concepts by the one and only SXT Styles, my bestie Brittany and neices came down from NY to support, my business partner, Ebony came through as my right hand through the entire process and my little proteges, Sannaa (baby sister) and Lailah were featured in the opening number!

CONS: Didn't feel as creatively inspired as I would've liked for the adult work which ofcourse was reflected in the end product, inconsistent dancers (a dancer actually dropped out the day before show lol) and stress levels were kinda up there lol.

My PMDI Babies made me proud:)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page